Become a 2017 Sponsors!





















Kiki & Ted Kennedy, Jr.






The goals of the Nightingale Awards for Excellence in Nursing program are to encourage retention, inspire future nurses, focus public attention and recognize the breadth and scope of nursing practice at the local level. What better way to inspire future nurses then to honor nursing students for academic and community achievement.

In partnering with local nursing programs including Gateway Community College, Sacred Heart University, Southern Connecticut State University, Quinnipiac University and Yale School of Nursing, the Nightingale Awards for Excellence in Nursing provides five $1,200 scholarships – one scholarship to a deserving student at each School of Nursing. The respective Schools of Nursing select the scholarship nominee based on demonstrated financial need and qualities that suggest the student may be a future Nightingale nominee.  To date, New Haven's Nightingale Awards for Excellence in Nursing Program has awarded over $50,000 in scholarships.

Congratulations to the 2016 Nightingale Scholarship Winners



On April 20, 2016, John R. Quinn, President & CEO of VNA Health Systems hosted the 2016 Nightingale Scholarship reception. Pictured are the local nursing students who were each awarded a $1,200 Nightingale Scholarship.

From left to right: Olivia Marshall - Sacred Heart University, Jessica DiMattia – Southern CT State University, Racheal Budzik - Gateway Community College, and Chimene Diomi - Yale School of Nursing

Nominate a Nurse

Nominations for 2017 Nightingale Awards is now closed.

For information regarding nominations, call the Nightingale hotline at 203-859-6765.


Nightingale Nursing Awards is made possible by the generous support of our sponsors.  Click Here to view our sponsors and get information on how you can also become a sponsor.


 Purchase Tickets

Reservation deadline:  April 9, 2017 (CLOSED)


Click here to visit the scholarship information page.